Automotive builds Got an automotive build you want to want to document? Post it here!

Dave@Canibeat.com's Laguna Blue Project

Old 03-16-2012, 11:51 PM

Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Dave@Canibeat.com's Laguna Blue Project

Well I have been a member of s2ki for a few years now but I have never created a thread so I figured it was about time... I am a freelance photographer from New Jersey and I am the Co-Founder and Editor of Canibeat.com. I have followed a number of builds here on s2ki over the years but it wasn't until December of 2011 I decided to buy an s2000 myself. Some of you might recognize my other car, it's a 2007 Si Coupe (hence the old username) which I still own and daily drive.

After buying the Si brand new I gradually went lower and more aggressive with my wheel choices over the years, and although it's still in winter mode right now this is how it normally sits on fully polished CCW's with gold ARP hardware, all of the Si badging removed, and the shaved Si grille and EX trunk among other things.

I contemplated supercharging the Si for a while, doing the interior, and cleaning up the engine bay... but after a lot of thinking I decided the car "just worked" and it didn't make sense to boost a slammed car or dump anymore money into a car I drive ~23k miles a year. So I started thinking about a second car...

After surfing s2ki for years and searching all of the used car sites for a few weeks I had my heart set on finding a clean, low mileage, Laguna Blue AP2. At first I searched locally in the Tri-State area but the few Laguna Blue S's that I found were rough around the edges, had not been in accidents, had rebuilt motors, you name it...