Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Negotiating new bike deal

Old 09-22-2014, 06:44 PM

Received 423 Likes on 298 Posts
Default Negotiating new bike deal

Looking at trying to pick up one of the CB500 variants, either the X or the F and I have no experience with powersports dealers. I generally consider prep fees crap, but since we are going into the end of season, can I expect to get any kind of discount off MSRP?

One local dealer has an ad for a CB500F (2014) with a reference to $400 Honda bonus bucks. I see no mention of it on Honda's sight as an incentive and googling it I see a few references to $100 but not $400.

Anywho, do Honda MC dealers generally budge a bit or am I gonna have to pay sticker?
Old 09-23-2014, 06:32 AM

Received 196 Likes on 136 Posts

When I bought my last Honda, I found dealers to be very stodgy with prices - some had new models from three years back that they wouldn't discount. Fwiw, I ended up buying a used bike with some mods I liked that was practically new for less.
Old 12-10-2014, 10:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

All depends on your dealers, how quick they want the bike gone or if they are getting $$ for selling it quick. Bikes unfortunately are not cars so there isn't a lot of incentives from the manufacture that pushes for discounts.
BUT the bike shop does make alot of profit from the sell so its up to them on how less of a profit they want to make.
Old 12-16-2014, 05:39 AM

Your best bet is to find a volume dealer. Most smaller dealers won't budge on the price. Also, getting an older model year will save you money since they want to clear out inventory for the new model year. I bought a brand new 2012 CBR1000RR in 2013 for just over 10k (not counting tax, title, warranty, and finance charges).

EDIT: D'oh, didn't realize this is an old post. Any luck?
Old 01-07-2015, 12:52 PM

Originally Posted by Super Nintendo Chalmers