Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Thinking about getting a motorcycle

Old 10-18-2015, 04:15 PM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Thinking about getting a motorcycle

I've been watching some YouTube videos like Do It With Dan, 6 foot 4 honda, Snowcatxx87, and I think I got bit with a bug because now I want a motorcycle. The real reason for me getting one is because of my school. Parking there (Cal State LA) absolutely sucks! the motorcycles have their own little spot exclusively for them.

I've been doing some research and I am looking at smaller displacement sport bikes (250-300cc range). I saw a really nice 2013 CBR250R Repsol for sale and I was wondering if this is the kind of bike you can jump on the freeway with? I've been told by people to jump into a 600cc bike but I'm pretty sure I'm not ready for one of those yet.

I have no prior experience to riding a motorcycle but I will be enrolling in a motorcycle safety course. I was referred to one in Mt. Sac but I'm open to any other ones if you recommend any.

I am also curious about insurance and how that would work. People have told me it was cheap to insure a bike but I've seen some full coverage premiums go for 600 a month on a cbr250r! Maybe people just get liability? I'll post some info about myself below.
Sex: male
Experience on a motorcycle: none
Last ticket and accident: both in 2011
Primary use: commuting
Frequent visited freeways in order from most used to rarely used: 110 N, 5 N and S, 10 W and E, 710, 60, 210, 605, 14, 1.

Any advice will be appreciated! Thanks!
Old 10-19-2015, 05:12 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts