S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

AUX cord install

Old 12-15-2016, 02:56 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default AUX cord install

Hey everyone.
I finally got fed up with my FM Transmitter and decided to figure out how hardwire a aux cord.
After searching online I found a few options.
A 'interface adapter' which can be found on ebay, amazon, etc. prices range from as low as $15 from what I see. I have no experience with these so I can't say for sure how well they work.
The other option I found was to hardwire into the CD player. From what I read you have to then make a 'false cd' with no sound and play that on repeat to get the sound from your Iphone or Ipod. This option was more in the direction I wanted to go.

I decided to wire into the radio FM/AM functions. Since I never listen to the radio anyway this was the best option for me....and it was FREE.

Fairly simple job.
  1. Remove the head unit, the cover just pulls off and then there are 4 screws holding it to the dash.
  2. Take the head unit covering off. (small Phillips head screws)
  3. Remove the disc changer assembly
  4. Remove the 4 screws holding the board to the case
  5. on the bottom right of that board you will find the radio pins
  6. Take a AUX cord and cut the end off. Mine had 3 wires (Red, Black, And White)
  7. solder the Red to R out (right out), White to L out (left out) and black to GND (ground)
  8. reassemble

I chose to leave the antenna unplugged when I reinstalled not sure if this helps with clarity or not.
The following users liked this post:
huangxny (10-24-2019)
Old 12-15-2016, 03:33 PM

Received 256 Likes on 219 Posts

Why not get an after market head unit with aux input, usb input, bluetooth, etc.?
Old 12-15-2016, 04:10 PM

Originally Posted by rpg51
Why not get an after market head unit with aux input, usb input, bluetooth, etc.?