S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

VAFC center console install for dummies...

Old 03-16-2004, 12:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

it seemed my sc and ac install for dummies helped a few folks out:

http://forums.s2ki.com/forums/showthread.p...threadid=175893

and i've received several PM's about how i did my install so here it is again. keep in mind all this is in layman's terms, since well ... i'm a layman. before i owned my S, i could count on one finger how often i had changed the oil in a car i owned. so here goes.

pic of the final result:

believe it or not, this is one of the easier installs i've done. it took about 3 hours total, and my friend and i were taking our time to make sure we did it right. this especially applied to the cutting on the console. i did have a spare console just in case things went south.

and special thanks to my lovely assistant marty for his help with this install. the man's a life saver. and to the misses as well. props to her and her help with installing the brackets to finally get the thing to stay in place!

tools
soldering iron -- you figure it out
solder wire stuff -- that fancy stuff you melt on to do your thing
electrical tape -- tape up your stuff after the solder and to tape your screwdrivers up when taking out trimming
shrink wrap -- another solder insulation option
VAFC harness -- not necessary but makes it soooo much easier
dremel tool -- to cut the console
scriber tool -- to outline for the cut (pic below)
lock tite, blue -- if you're a fellow voodoo knob owner like me
high grit sandpaper -- to clean up your cuts afterward
various screwdrivers -- interior trim removal and such
2 hinges -- to hold your VAFC in place
2 self tapping screws -- to hold your hinges in place
lopsided drill -- to drill in your screws (pic below)
zip ties -- to zip up your wires to keep them out of the way
a dictionary filled with cuss words since you'll be using your share of them