S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

DIY: Cold Air Induction installation

Old 07-24-2005, 09:46 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default DIY: Cold Air Induction installation

Hello All,

I purchased a carbon fiber cold air induction plate not too long ago. I read through some other DIY steps and thought it would be helpful for everyone to have a step-by-step with pictures. (i'm a pro at this...check out what my buddy and I did in the past for my Acura CL-S)

The process takes about an hour depending on how many snags you run into.

Tools required:

- Flash light
- Philips screw driver
- Flat head screw driver
- 12mm socket with wrench
- Drill (optional)
- Hammer (really optional)

So here we go (author of this thread is not liable for any bodily or car injuries due to these directions...good luck):

Before Pic:

1) Remove the three screws holding down the A/C service lid. Becareful removing these screws...they are plastic, and they are vulnerable to stripping.

2) I used one finger to hold down the outer plastic piece so it didn't spin.

3) Next remove the four screws along the top of the OEM plate using the same technique.

4) Once all screws are removed you will need to pop out the plastic rivets.

5) This is what happens when you strip a screw. I had to use a drill to push the screw out the back.

6) My trusty Mikita!

7) This is probably the hardest part. You will need to duck your head under neath the weather stripping and locate the four pop-in rivets that are holding the rest of the OEM plate in place. This picture was taken upside down to show the rivet. Get a looong flat head screw driver in there to pop them out.

One trick is to push the OEM plastic piece in so you have room to stick your arms in there. It hurts...but it's the easiest way to maneuver the flat head screw driver.