Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

CPA anyone?

Old 06-14-2014, 08:45 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default CPA anyone?

Hello,

So I graduated with a Management Science degree with only one accounting class. I have been having a difficult time seeking a career job.

My brother-in-law suggested me to take the CPA (which he is currently working on), he said he knows people in his CPA firm that had no accounting background but still able to pass the CPA exams. At the moment, I am taking the required accounting classes at my local community college and meeting the required total of 225 quarter units.

Has anyone here passed the CPA exams? If so, any advice or suggestion on the study habit? My brother in law says if I have the time to put into it I will be fine...and he says he is having a hard time because he has to work his butt off as an accountant already and when he gets home it's hard to even focus.

Thanks!
Kevin
Old 06-15-2014, 04:58 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I just finished my CPA earlier this year. I have experience in public accounting and publicly traded corporate accounting.

The CPA fully sucks, it's by far the hardest thing I've ever done. You have to dedicate a ton of time to get through it, some of the smartest people I know have struggled with it. It's also an expensive exam, each section is a few hundred bucks, and the study materials range from expensive to insane.

I'd certainly never discourage anyone from furthering their education. But like your brother said, you really need to have the time to put in it. If you put the time in to studying, you will be fine.
Old 06-15-2014, 10:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by ViperASR