Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

Help me retire and quit my job ASAP. Help me invest.

Old 02-23-2014, 07:57 PM

Received 72 Likes on 63 Posts
Default Help me retire and quit my job ASAP. Help me invest.

I'm single and 29 years old and I have been a life insurance agent for 8 years now. I have a residual income from all my previous sales of about $2,500 a month. I make about 80-100k a year. I drop most of my savings 3 years ago on my first investment home, which is now worth 550k and I owe 192k on it and it's rented out for $2,300 a month. I'm about to drop most of my savings again on my second investment house. I live at home with my parents in the back house rent free. If I try hard I can probably save 25-40k a year, but lately I have been very passionately thinking about retiring as soon as I can. So if I push it I should be able to save 50k+ a year.

Sounds great right? Problem is I hate my job and I don't know how much longer I can keep this up. I drive 100-150 miles per day 6 days a week meeting with potenchiel clients to sell insurance. There are many days I door knock all day long. I work 12pm-9-10pm 6 days a week. Going back to school or trying to start any other career would be financially stupid since I'm so successful at what I currently do. And chances are if I did that I would be making less $$ then I do now. I have concluded that there is no exit for me job/career wise.(unless someone can prove me wrong) So the only solution I can come up with is to tuff it out like this for maybe another 10 more years save as much as much as possible and try to retire ASAP. I really can't see myself still doing this past the age of 40. It's just to stressfull and to hard on my body and mind.

How do I retire by 40? This saving and dropping everything on investment property is great but I don't think it's going to retire me by 40. What else can I do? Help me get out of this job!!!!