Ohio S2000 Club Ohio S2000 Owners Club

Gears gears, and more gears:

Old 03-07-2017, 03:10 PM

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Gears gears, and more gears:

Hi guys. First and foremost, admittedly I'm no gear expert, but I have searched the forums. Lol. Anyway, I wanted to pose a particular question here for any local track guys to give me their feedback about their experiences on the two tracks I most frequent, PIRC & Mid-Ohio, regarding using different gears. I was wondering if any of my fellow local track guys were running a 4.57 or a 4.44 on an aP1 at PIRC and/or Mid-Ohio? Not really interested in a 4.77. There's two turns at PIRC where I'm in gear trouble to where I'm thinking one of those two would help. However, I'm uncertain if they would only cause a problem elsewhere on the rack. either way it would have to be quicker, no?

Also, if you are running a 4.44 or 4.57 , how is it at Mid-Ohio? I don't want gears to hinder. Or isn't there a downside? Is the pay off worth it?

Finally, I'm probably leaning more toward a 4.44 right now. Thoughts on either?

TIA for any insight.

Last edited by Kirk180; 03-07-2017 at 06:34 PM.
Old 03-07-2017, 08:36 PM

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

If u think u r good at shifting and are NA go for 477. 477 wount be fun on streets either. Iv tried the 477 and its to short for me. FI I would recommend OEM. 444 is good if u wana build a NA machine that can be driven on track and streets.
Old 03-08-2017, 07:35 AM

Received 56 Likes on 39 Posts

Not sure if you have seen this, but it has been tempting the crap out of me since it was posted. I think it might solve your dilemma and mine because I will no longer be tempted.

https://www.s2ki.com/forums/member-s...-diff-1166725/
Old 03-08-2017, 08:12 AM

Received 26 Likes on 19 Posts

Which corners are causing issues? Do you have any data, times, corner speeds, etc?

im not real big on changimg to a 4.57. That's a big difference. A cheap way to gain gearing is to run 235/40/17 tires