Rocky Mountain S2000 Owners Rocky Mountain Owners Club including Colorado

Winter Prep

Old 11-04-2014, 09:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Winter Prep

Hi guys,

I picked up a 2001 s2000 last week So I'm pretty new to s2000s and rwd in general. For the people that daily drive their cars in the winter what do you guys do to get your cars ready for the winter? I just picked up some snow tires and i'm wondering if there is anything else i can do. The car i bought came with a glass window but the defroster isnt hooked up. would it be worth it to invest in the wiring kit to get it working? Thanks, and looking forward to the chance to meet you guys!
Old 11-05-2014, 07:28 AM

Keep your car clean as possible. Especially after it snows, the mag chloride will eat your car. Adding a defroster will definitely help.

BTW, not a ton of active people on this forum. You could probably post this on s2kca and get a few more responses.
Old 11-05-2014, 08:03 AM

thanks for the advice and the headds up!
Old 11-11-2014, 10:40 AM

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Many of Colorado’s S owners drive year-round. All is needed is some tires on all four corners that work on snow and ice along with the recognition that deep snow and the car’s low ground clearance may be incompatible. Because of the s2000’s low ground clearance, winter month interstate roadway driving guarantees windshield and paint chipping -- constant sand on the roads during the winter months may dictate a protective shield on the cars frontal exposures and rocker panel; it all depends upon how anal you are about your car’s appearance.

For myself, I would install the rear window defroster kit -- it’s a nice creature comfort.

Good guidance from spa01s2k, “Keep your car clean as possible”.

No social activities have ever been successfully launched from this forum. The other site’s Rocky Mountain S2000 Owners forum still posts a limited number of get-togethers.

Old 11-18-2014, 03:34 AM

Received 208 Likes on 170 Posts