S2000 Brakes and Suspension Discussions about S2000 brake and suspension systems.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Sake Bomb

ST Suspensions X coilover vs. Tein Flex Z

Old 03-18-2017, 02:58 PM

Received 23 Likes on 17 Posts
Question ST Suspensions X coilover vs. Tein Flex Z

I recently purchased an AP1 (2003) to make into my street/track car. The 100% OEM suspension at 144k mi is pretty toast, with the driver's front shock looking like it leaked its oil out quite some time ago and clunking badly. A little background about me, I currently have an S13 240SX track car that's HIGHLY modified and really a 100% track car. It's very fast (EFR 7163 twin scroll on a built SR20 block with SR20VE head, 500+ rwhp is possible on E85, Koni 8611 dual adjustables, Cusco RS diff, full aero, all rod ends/sphericals on suspension, custom brakes I made, Tilton twin disk clutch etc.). It's very fast on track, but not enjoyable to drive on the street. I've been driving on the track for 15 yrs, but I'm over the phase of making a car suck on the street to go half a second faster on the track. I just want something that will go out there and feel "good" on probably sticky street tires, maybe NT01s in the future in the usual 255/40R17 sizing.

The goal for replacing the suspension is to get something that's reasonable/comfortable for the street, but won't be completely out of place on track. Think more like an OEM Type R suspension turned up a little bit, but no 16kg/mm spring rates etc. The other goal is to keep it in the budget friendly range of sub $1k street pricing, as I don't really want lots of knobs to twiddle, or Ohlins (I know they're good, just not interested). Adjustable damping is a minor plus, but honestly, it's not big to me as long as the base damping is good for the spring rates. I do not want any sort of "cheap Taiwanese coilover" damping curve like a Megan Racing, BC etc. A stock suspension is probably faster than those....