S2000 CR Club Racer Edition CR stands for "club racer," conjuring up the good old days when guys drove their sports cars to the track, raced them, and then, if the racing gods were smiling, drove them home again

S2000 CR potential purchase - asking for opinion

Old 01-17-2017, 12:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default S2000 CR potential purchase - asking for opinion

Hi,

I currently own a 2003 Silverstone S2000. I purchased it in 2006 from a friend. Today, it has approximately 30k miles. I intended to keep this car for a long time. The car is garage kept, driven about 75 miles monthly, and maintained once a year.

I've been saving up for the upcoming 2018 Civic Type R. This is the problem. I saw a S2000 CR in real life and fell in love with it. After doing a lot of research, I feel that if I am going to collect a S2000, it should be a CR.

For the last month, I’ve been looking for a CR in excellent and original condition. They are not hard to find yet. I see good ones being sold for around $35000.

This is the back and forth debate. Part of me tells me that it's a waste of money and I already own a clean and good condition S2000. The other part of me wants to get the S2000 CR. It is my favorite car ever made. If I keep and collect my 2003 model, I plan to get some spare parts, do a mini restoration (replace the valve retainer, fix a couple of dents, replace the worn convertible top…etc.), and purchase a hardtop. The total cost is around $8000-10000. If I purchase the CR, I would be spending all the money I’ve saved up for the Civic Type R on a 9 years old used S2000. But it will be a rare and awesome CR. I cannot make up my mind.

Truthfully, I am satisfied that I already own a S2000. The desire to own a CR doesn’t make rational sense. I may be influenced by its rarity and future collector’s value. So, I’m asking you CR owners for your opinion.