S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

STR Lightweight Battery Recommedations

Old 12-20-2016, 03:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default STR Lightweight Battery Recommedations

Hello,

I am looking for lightweight battery recommendations. My car will only be used for autocross and the most "daily" driving it will see is the ride to and from the events which is a combined 60 miles to and from the location. Otherwise, it will sit in the garage with a battery tender.

Please let me know. thanks in advance.
Old 12-20-2016, 08:01 AM

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

I'm no expert on the subject by any means, but I recently purchased a 5.5lb lithium ion battery for my car. The retailer seriously cautioned me against installing it before installing a kill switch. Reason being lithium ion batteries will not recover if the power drops below 8v. Because I only drive it once a month or so, simply leaving the keys in the ignition could be a costly mistake.
By the same token, these batteries should not be overcharged either, and the manufacturer listed very specific chargers that were tested and accepted not to overcharge the battery. There were no Battery Tender products on that list.
I'm not trying to talk you out of lithium ion - just saying if you are considering that route, you need to thoroughly research it first.
Old 12-20-2016, 03:42 PM

Received 56 Likes on 39 Posts

I am using a Deka, they are light and super cheap. I figured if it failed then for what I paid it wasn't a big deal, I can buy 5 for the price of a Shorai. I am going on 2yrs now and it works great! I only drove 2k miles last year and toss it on a tender over the winter. I will just buy another if it fails
Old 12-20-2016, 03:52 PM

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts