S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Student - Need all info

Old 03-10-2017, 03:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Student - Need all info

Hey guys, I am currently a medical student and off to get my first car as a gift to myself.
I've looked around for many cars and I was stuck between a porsche boxster, mazda mx-5 miata, and a honda s2000.
I will be buying a used one.

After a-lot of research on many forums I came down to choosing between the porsche boxster and honda s2000. I really wanted the porsche boxster but as a student I simply can't afford the maintenance costs if something goes wrong with the porsche boxster so I started leaning towards the honda s2000.

One big thing for me was long road trips & smooth rides and the fact that the honda s2000 is a 4 cylinder car.
I'll be very honest and say I dont know much about cars at all.

I wanted to know the following and any extra information if possible:

1) Because the honda s2000 is a 4 cylinder car does it shake like crazy and can you feel the vibrations?
2) How comfortable is it on long road trips as I love doing them as long as the car is smooth as butter ..... I simply hate vibrations on long trips.
3) I have watched a-lot of youtube video's and on each one I see the person shaking or the stick shifter shaking from the vibrations of the car ... is this true?
4) Is the Honda s2000 reliable enough to go ahead and buy them with around 100k miles and expect them to last another 100k miles?
5) Is it worth paying $25,000+ for these cars when you can get a porsche boxster for around the same price?

I am not that knowledgeable about cars so I hope you can forgive me.

Thanks!
Old 03-10-2017, 04:11 PM

Received 340 Likes on 277 Posts

okaaay.
1. you will feel every road imperfection in an s2000. They are stiff. The seats are very narrow if you're larger than a 32 waist. you will feel "vibrations". This is an analogue car.