S2000 Vintage Owners Knowledge, age and life experiences represent the members of the Vintage Owners

Electrical/electronics experts

Old 09-16-2009, 06:00 AM

Received 106 Likes on 78 Posts
Default Electrical/electronics experts

For years people have told me that one can use a power inverter to convert the power supply from a positive groud car for use with a negative ground sound system, without needing to insulate the car radio from the chassis of the car. This never made any sense to me, untill I read the attached article. But I'm no expert and I don't know if this is right or not. It just sounds good to me. If you really know your electical/electronics, I would appreciate your thoughts. If you are just throwing out a guess, please say so in your post.

http://mgaguru.com/mgtech/electric/et207.htm
Old 09-16-2009, 11:17 AM

Received 4,914 Likes on 2,980 Posts

I know Barney; in fact, he's been to my house. When it comes to love, he certainly loves two things - MGs and himself.

MG used the positive ground system until 1968. Their reasoning was they believed it inhibited electrolytic corrosion. But the cars rotted anyway, be it the British climate or Michigan! The change to the more conventional negative ground system coincided with the introduction of the alternator-based charging system on the 1968 MGB. Likewise, the original coil terminals are identified by CB (for distributor Contact Breaker which would be positive) and SW (for ignition Switch which would be negative).

On my current car for originality and appearance sake I elected to stay with a generator, although it puts out marginal power compared to an alternator, and stayed with positive ground system since that is what it had. I elected not to install a radio (dead weight since they never got used in my other MGs).