Texas - North Texas S2000 Owners North Texas S2000 Owners Club
North Texas Club

Driving in the rain.

Old 03-19-2012, 09:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Driving in the rain.

So i recently just picked up my s2k and ,obviously, as any new car owner would i have been testing its limits within reason. In addition this is my first RWD previously owning a 1993 honda civic for the last 5 years. Everything has been going well and i've put about 4000 miles on it, so i do understand i'm not experienced enough yet but i do have a fair gauge of where it lies. Well today a friend of mine has having intense pain at about 5.30,in the morning so i drove her out to Denton Regional, the roads were dry. After about a 3 hour wait i decided to drop by my house and as i leave the hospital the ground's wet and the rain is on and off (i'm sure we can all relate to tx weather). So i exit heading north the frontage road on the 35 and notice the light is green where i need to turn left so i take the left at around 22 mph and get ready to take my next left to head back south on 35. I see the light turning yellow so i push the pedal down a bit, hitting 26mph and as i lean into the turn my rear slips out causing me to do a 180 on the frontage road. Luckily i avoided hitting both curbs. Aside from the slight hit to my ego it was a pretty scary incident to bear and im just thankful no one was around. I do not think i pushed the car past it's limits but i might've rode over a shallow ditch which could've cost me traction?

The tire tread and pressure was good, still on stock rims... if that makes a difference.

I was just wondering if any of you had some rainy day stories, tips or advice?
Also any drives who have driven AP1 and AP2 notice a difference driving in the rain due to VSA?

Thanks
Old 03-19-2012, 09:25 PM

There's an autocross at TMS this upcoming weekend, get out there and learn some car control
Old 03-20-2012, 01:33 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post