UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

First post: On a £2000 budget what first mods would you buy for pre/post face-lift S2

Old 01-16-2017, 01:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First post: On a £2000 budget what first mods would you buy for pre/post face-lift S2

Hi all I am Sam (27 from South Wales) I am currently in the market for my first S2000 I am happy to get either pre or post face-lift but will be dropping £2000 on servicing and mods straight off the bat.

My question to you is if you where to buy an S2000 and start from scratch what would you get?

I don't know if it will help but as a mechanic myself I will be doing all the work myself (bar remapping) and am aiming for a fairly OEM look with a hardtop for the harsher weather days.

I'm looking forward to getting to know a few of you and seeing what you come up with. Have fun and please leave links, who knows maybe your suggestion will help with the decision I make in a few weeks time.
Old 01-16-2017, 01:30 AM
UK Moderator

Received 300 Likes on 258 Posts

A decent stereo including sound deadening. Spend at least £500 on that.
Modifry glovebox organiser. Glove Box Organizer
Good tyres: https://www.s2ki.com/forums/uk-irela...t-etc-1085229/
Good alignment
Driver training and/or track days: https://www.motorsport-events.com/pages/1-to-1-tuition

If you want to ignore the above, then a decent set of coilovers would be the next best thing to do (Ohlins, KwV3, Bilstein PSS9, Nitrons). Don't bother with the cheapo stuff.

That'll about do it. £2k won't get you much in the way of decent stuff for this car, I'm afraid.
Old 01-16-2017, 01:39 AM

Received 40 Likes on 39 Posts

One thing I would add to the list is heated seats mod. Great in the cold weather! Bargain at £60 with 4 hrs of fairly simple DIY.
Old 01-16-2017, 01:45 AM

Received 58 Likes on 56 Posts