Vancouver BC S2000 Owners Meet fellow owners in the Canadian province of British Columbia.

AP1 Transmission acting weird

Old 11-27-2015, 10:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AP1 Transmission acting weird

Hey Guys,

I am currently dealing with something that I have never encountered before and was wondering if anyone has any input on the situation.

Just alittle background, I self taught myself how to drive manual and am unfortunately not very mechanically inclined. Work done to mine and my family's previous cars were mostly sent out to garages. This could potentially be a silly question, something I'm doing wrong or an easy fix and I apologize in advance if it is.

Sometimes when I am in bumper to bumper traffic and riding on first gear alot, my s2k tends to like stutter. The best way i can describe it is as if im constantly engaging and releasing the clutch 3 times a second. There's power, then nothing, then power, etc. However, when I change to second gear, it goes away. The engine is not on the verge of stalling as it is around 2-3k rpm but the power isnt consistent. This would tend to happen about 5 minutes into bumper to bumper traffic. However, once I get fast enough to go into second gear, the whole thing resets and it's fine until another 5 minute later. This has been really annoying cause it literally looks and feels like my car is jerking back and forth and on the verge of breaking down whenever I am in traffic. However, if I am not in traffic, runs like a charm. I hope someone knows what I'm on about. Maybe I'm just doing something stupid?