Vancouver Island Vancouver Island S2000 Enthusiasts

Soft top rattles

Old 03-26-2013, 10:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Soft top rattles

Does anyone else have what seems to be an excessive rattle in their soft top? I was a tech at Honda before I moved here and performed the TSB for the latches on my car, which did not change the noise. It is only over bumps but it seems to be pretty loud (squeak and rattle noise). I don't have much to compare to since I have only ever drove my 03 and an 06 down the road (lots others around the lot that's it). Top is tight (not loose or saggy) and in mint condition, and I have lubed all pivoting points. I just can't seem to find where it's coming from or what is causing it.
Old 03-27-2013, 09:35 AM

Probably not the squeaking but the rattling could be the plastic on the sides of the latches. For some reason they made them loose. There is a guide to putting stuff between the plastic and the metal on the latches, looks dead easy though I haven't done it yet. It only bothers me on rougher roads. When you are driving if you put your hand on them you can stop them from moving/rattling and see.
Old 03-27-2013, 09:56 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Retorque the latches screws and superglue them.

Sent from my Defy using Tapatalk 2
Old 03-27-2013, 08:29 PM

not really sure.. i have an 08 and no signs of rattling yet. maybe it comes with age?
Old 03-27-2013, 08:53 PM

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

Might pop off the A and B pillar plastic trim so you can access the screws for the strikers. If they're loose, take the screws out, use red lock-tite (not blue) on them, and put them back in.
This is a more common issue with people who have a hard top installed, but it's still worth checking out and will only take you ten-fifteen minutes total.