S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Stock class SCCA autocross rules/class changes 2014 & 2015

Old 11-01-2013, 09:31 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm not new to the sport, newer than some, but more experienced than others. I've been doing this for 9 years now. My beef is similar to alot of others' I have heard from: I really want to race, I really want to compete, but I can't afford to be competetive. It seems like that was one reason for creating the 'street' class in the first place. I know they made up some 'bs' about how the R-comps drastically change the handling charasteristics of the vehicle so that it isn't the same as a 'stock' vehicle. While that is all well and true in some cases, you have to realize that the RT classes grew for a reason, and they grew quickly. Maybe it was that the tires were cheaper, therefore the cost of running was cheaper. Maybe it was because some cars had an advantage and others didn't when on 'street' tires, it's all very individualized, but we all have to agree that there are probably a LOT of people at your local events that would be more attracted to the sport if there was a way for them to run competetively on a much smaller budget. It just so happens that I'm kind-a in the same boat.

All this being said, I am glad to hear that some cars (or drivers!) are competetive on stock shocks. That atleast gives me hope that the car *should* be somewhat competetive being that it has all the other mods for street class. Now I just need to continue my own improvements, as well as get some better tires (Kumho XS's that have a production date in 2008 are not exactly the stickiest or softest out there).
Old 11-01-2013, 10:00 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by austincrx