UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Road to VTEC Challenge series

Old 06-12-2015, 12:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Road to VTEC Challenge series

Hi to all,

I have owned my Ap1 Silverstone S2000 for over 5 years now, and I love the car and have no intentions of selling the thing, I bought the car knowing that one day I wanted to learn to race in it, I have been waiting for the rite time to come in order to start a race car project i,e nice stable career and a mortgage I can easily afford, also a great partner who puts up with my projects as being a design engineer my mind is very busy! lol, After months of reading, I finally bit the bullet and have made a start, so I plan to log my progress on here to keep a good track of what I've done and mostly how much I improve along the way.

First things first, which I will probably be slated for is I have never done a track day, mainly just mountain pass runs, but nothing on a competitive level, My plan is as I am preparing the car I will be booking track days and race lessons in between, 1.so I can get used to the car as it changes, and two I need to learn how to drive on the track. My first track day/lesson I will be booking soon, which will be at Caslte Combe towards the end of summer, so I have a lot of work to get done by then. I will be doing as much work as I possible can to keep the budget down, as I want to do this as cheap as possible, not the car to race cheaply in I know, but its the car I want to race and learn in.

What I have done so far:

Some fresh disks and pads, and refurbished all four callipers with new seals,

Some new brake and clutch juice, also chucked in a new clutch master cylinder as it started leaking a little:

These pins were a bitch!

Started interior strip: