Pacific Northwest S2000 Owners For S2000 Owners in Washington, Idaho, and Alaska

Seeking advice on this potential buy

Old 11-26-2015, 11:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seeking advice on this potential buy

Hi all!

Complete newbie to the scene, going to take look at this 2007 NFR S2000 (linked below). I've done my research but wanted to get some opinions on the value of the car. One concern is that the carfax (provided on the listing) says it had 5 owners; I think 1 of them might be a dealership? Is the open recall of the brake master vacuum any concern? KBB shows value at around $22k but I get the feeling that it's slightly overpriced, can't figure out why carfax posts a price adjustment of +$820.

http://tinyurl.com/on3sgpe
Old 11-27-2015, 09:32 AM
Go2

Having a HT is a bonus, but other than that, the value is perceived by the buyer. 06+ model S2k were much lower production, so the value held will be greater than older model Ap1 and non DBW AP2. Unless this is the EXACT S2000 you want, maybe hold out? Or go into dealer and negotiate, negotiate, negotiate. Good luck
Old 11-27-2015, 01:05 PM

Received 1,131 Likes on 994 Posts

$22K with the hard top is $19K without it and is priced where I'd expect it to be. Are you willing to let the car get away for $1000?

There should be no recall on the brake booster -- the car is parked at a Honda dealer who should have already done the inspection. That's a benefit of buying from a Honda dealer. Insist that it's documented.

What's the concern about owners? These are all used cars that have been discarded by their previous owners for one reason or another. Even the one-owner cars are discards. The car has been serviced by Honda dealers pretty exclusively.

For me the '06 and later cars are the most desirable. The '07 is very nice. DBW gets stability/traction control and a tuneable ECU. Hondata FlashPro and a Gernby tune will dramatically improve mid-rage power (and acceleration).

-- Chuck