S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

S2K Current Market Analysis

Old 06-07-2016, 08:10 PM

Received 16 Likes on 5 Posts
Default S2K Current Market Analysis

The market on S2000s was something that I was very interested in as I was searching to buy my own S2000 over the past few months. I knew that I could gain some insight and purchasing guidance by collecting some easily-available data and completing statistical analysis on the available market (I am a mechanical engineer with experience analyzing complex sets of data). One of my interests was to see if I was getting a fair price. Another interest was to see what kind of loss in value I should expect through ownership. Other than that, there are still plenty of other valuable findings.

Well, I eventually purchased one ~2-3 weeks ago, but I figured that the analysis I did may be interesting to some other people who either own or want to buy an S2000. Unlike most statistics, I figured this may be fun data to share.

It’s my hope that this data is useful to the community and that we can all learn something about these cars we all love.

Data collection and background

You may choose to skip through this section if you just want to see the results.

I only collected data through Craigslist ads. The information that I could gather was only from what was available in the ad. There are many things left out from ads so I did what I could here. I collected data on the following variables:
  • Year (I only considered AP2 cars at first, but I later looked at AP1 for the community’s sake)
  • Mileage
  • Ext. Color
  • Asking Price
  • Seller (private vs. dealer)
  • Location, sub-location (only considered CA and nearby states)
  • Hardtop included or no hardtop
  • Stock condition (for this I had to make my own assessment of how close to stock the car was with a scale 1-5, below is the scale)
  • 1. Stock – Including cars with different shift knobs or stereo headunits