Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Hovering foot over clutch.

Old 09-21-2016, 09:57 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Hovering foot over clutch.

I posted a video on youtube driving one of my cars in traffic, in the rain. I live in a traffic ridden area, so there was a decent amount of stop and go, no highway driving.

Anyways, the trolls on the youtube had an absolute field day with my "clutch skills". In traffic I normally hover my foot over the clutch pedal so I'm ready to press it. Either I need to downshift to start engine breaking, or I need to slam on the breaks because of an idiot.

In the video it looked like I was resting my foot on the clutch. So everyone was screaming and laughing that I was going to ruin the clutch and that I was a noob. I looked at some videos and found that other people were doing it too, however, when I found a bunch of Japanese racing videos where they have cameras everywhere inside the car, I noticed the racecar drivers always put their foot back on the dead pedal, even if it was for a short amount of time. I'm guessing this is due to having a more solid seating position and having your foot hanging in the air waiting for a gear shift is pretty stupid while taking turns at high speed on a track.

And I know you're going to say "but you really will be eventually resting it, you just don't realise it". Uh nope, it's pretty obvious if that were to happen - it's a very distinct feeling when your foot is resting right on the pedal and you're pushing on it even a little bit.

After I cried for a bit from the ebullying, I attempted to explain to people that I was merely hovering and at no point was my foot even close to putting pressure on the clutch. Of course, the damage was already done and there was no convincing a troll otherwise.