Jump to content

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How to use remote while key is in ignition Finally, no more reaching!

#1 User is offline   Cyclon36 

  • Group: Gold Member
  • Posts: 3,311
  • Joined: 09-July 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Marietta, Georgia
  • Country: Croatia

Posted 16 August 2005 - 12:49 PM

Ok, I'm sure everyone wishes they still had functionality of their key fobs while the key is in the ignition. I've read lots of complaints about having to reach over or needing to get in the trunk while the console was locked and the car was on. Anyway, not sure if this is a repost, but I solved the problem by removing a few wires. I'll have to give Modifry some credit here b/c it's his electrical manual that helped me out. Anyway, if you get upside down and look up into your dash on the far left of the drivers side, you will see the keyless entry harness which is grey and white. It's about 4 or 5 inches above the bottom part of the dash kinda below the start button workings.

Anyway, there are two wires that let the keyless entry know when to stop working. One is from the ignition telling it that the car is on and the other is from the ignition key switch telling it that the key is in the ignition. Remove these two and you're in business. The ignition wire is yellow while the ignition switch wire is red and white. They are #'s 16 and 13 respectively in the diagram below:

Posted Image

I've figured out a clean way to remove the whole wire with the terminal without cutting, but it's kinda hard to explain so I won't bother. Of course, you can always cut these wires and it will work just fine as well. Just make sure you insulate the cut real well.

BTW, I take no responsability for anybody blowing up there car or voiding their warranty. Do this at your own descretion. Oh, and don't push the trunk open key while you're moving :D

#2 User is offline   SheDrivesIt 

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 8,342
  • Joined: 04-December 04
  • Location:Cincinnati
  • Country: United States

Posted 16 August 2005 - 12:56 PM

Why not push the trunk open key while moving? Anyone see this as a problem? I would think that all it would do is unlatch the trunk. It may rise a bit when stopped but if in motion, it will probably stay mostly down. Am I missing something?
Posted Image Posted Image

Posted Image Posted Image -Vice President of Banishment
<a href='http://www.s2ki.com/forums/i

#3 User is offline   SheDrivesIt 

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 8,342
  • Joined: 04-December 04
  • Location:Cincinnati
  • Country: United States

Posted 16 August 2005 - 12:57 PM

Oh, yeah. Thanks Cyclon. This is very useable information. Any side effects so far? How long ago did you accomplish this?

#4 User is offline   Cyclon36 

  • Topic Starter
  • Group: Gold Member
  • Posts: 3,311
  • Joined: 09-July 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Marietta, Georgia
  • Country: Croatia

Posted 16 August 2005 - 12:58 PM

Quote

Why not push the trunk open key while moving? Anyone see this as a problem? I would think that all it would do is unlatch the trunk. It may rise a bit when stopped but if in motion, it will probably stay mostly down. Am I missing something?

It was more of a light comment than a warning. I'm sure the wind would keep the trunk down. I've driven with open trunks before with no problems. The only bad thing is that you can't get out and shut it if you're on the highway and you accidentally press it :D

#5 User is offline   Cyclon36 

  • Topic Starter
  • Group: Gold Member
  • Posts: 3,311
  • Joined: 09-July 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Marietta, Georgia
  • Country: Croatia

Posted 16 August 2005 - 12:59 PM

Quote

Oh, yeah. Thanks Cyclon. This is very useable information. Any side effects so far? How long ago did you accomplish this?

I've had this mod for about two weeks now. So far no problems and it seems to work great.

#6 User is offline   hirev 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 2,146
  • Joined: 14-November 02
  • Location:SF Bay Area
  • Country: United States
  • Interests:cars

Posted 16 August 2005 - 01:40 PM

i got rid of my chime for open door with key in ignition. all my other warning apply(lights on with door open). i did a write up and it was so long ago i don't remember exact details...but i had to remove the cover for the steering wheel, top and bottom, remove a couple of wires(unplug) and now i can use the fob to open the trunk or unlock the doors while it is in the ignition and there is no longer a chime.

#7 User is offline   Cyclon36 

  • Topic Starter
  • Group: Gold Member
  • Posts: 3,311
  • Joined: 09-July 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Marietta, Georgia
  • Country: Croatia

Posted 17 August 2005 - 09:16 PM

I guess this mod is not as popular as I thought judging by the response. Maybe people don't like disconnecting crap :D

#8 User is offline   webmasterino 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 702
  • Joined: 22-February 07
  • Location:Highland Village
  • Country: United States

Posted 29 May 2007 - 11:42 PM

Quote

Oh, and don't push the trunk open key while you're moving :D

Add some stiffer springs and you have an instant Air Brake!

Now, disengaging the air brake is quite a different story. :)

But in all seriousness, I've had my S for less than a week and this will be my first mod, so thanks for the post! :)

This post has been edited by webmasterino: 29 May 2007 - 11:43 PM

Posted Image

We are all dogs, just some of us are Pedigree.

#9 User is offline   GrandMasterKhan 

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 5,114
  • Joined: 05-June 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Raleigh, NC
  • Country: United States
  • Interests:Fabrication of unique parts for S2000s and other makes including Cold Air Intake systems, Hood hinges systems, and audio.

Posted 29 May 2007 - 11:51 PM

i will do this. thank you!
Posted Image

Professional Car Audio INSTALLER : S2000 Electronics Guru : Shine : KW V3 : Mugen : VOLK CE28 : Kicker : AutoMeter : Spoon Sports : Hondata : Full-Blown : Tial : Aeromotive : SuperTech : 2.4L CNC : Precision 6265 : Lamanova : Asura : Harddog : ACT : D2 : Spal : Megan :

Its funny how that good old feeling of TQ dont mean shit in the real world. It just boosts the ego until HP steps in and stomps the living shit out of you. -GMK

#10 User is offline   J.nguyen 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 761
  • Joined: 28-April 07
  • Location:$an Deezy
  • Country: United States

Posted 30 May 2007 - 02:30 AM

thanks for this info, i was holding that button for awhile wondering why it didnt pop open while key was in, i hate reaching over to open glove to open trunk
Posted Image
00 S2000 J.nguyen

Follow me at: Twitter

#11 User is offline   JimmyB 

  • Group: Gold Member
  • Posts: 829
  • Joined: 12-July 02
  • Location:Weddington NC
  • Country: United States

Posted 30 May 2007 - 06:42 AM

When I had my alarm system instaled in 2001 it also changed out my trunk opener. To date I have never had the problem of the trunk opening while moving.

Great job Cyclon
01 Silverstone (My Toy)
14 Champagne Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit (My Dailey Driver)
06 Harley V-Rod (To help manage my mid life crisis)


Posted Image

#12 User is offline   achtung6 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 21-July 05
  • Country: United States

Posted 30 May 2007 - 07:04 AM

It is a great mod. Especially because the way Honda designed that circuit, a simple press of the trunk release button will not open the trunk. There is a delay and I would say in real world conditions, it's not possible for the you (or your knee) to activate the trunk release unintentionally with the key in the ignition.

I did not do this mod but like JimmyB posted, it came as a very welcome surprise when I got my aftermarket alarm installed.

Now, if my glovebox is locked I can still open the trunk. This is very useful when you are picking up a passenger, the car is running and they have a large bag or something that needs to go in the trunk. I would previously have to shut the engine off, remove the key so I could unlock the glovebox and press the trunk release....wait, in my car I Modifried that so the key has to be in the ignition for that circuit to work....so unlock the glovebox, put the key back in and set to ACC or START so I could unlock the trunk or with the key still out of the ignition press the trunk release key on the key fob and pop the trunk and then put the key back in the ignition and start the car. Neither is an elegant procedure or solution.....

In any case, I love being able to unlock the trunk from the key fob at any time whether the key is in the ignition or not or whether the glove box is locked or not.



#13 User is offline   Rdrcr 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: 05-September 06
  • Location:Thousand Oaks, CA.
  • Country: United States

Posted 30 May 2007 - 09:32 AM

Great idea and thanks for the information. I've always wanted to use the fob while it's in the ignition to unlock the passenger door.

Mike
2006 Suzuka Blue S2000

#14 User is offline   zo0mmike 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 562
  • Joined: 10-September 04
  • Location:Sacramento, CA
  • Country: United States

Posted 30 May 2007 - 10:07 AM

Nicee.. will have to do this, annoying when I have to shut off the engine just to open the trunk when the glove box is locked.

#15 User is offline   whiplash 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 16-November 06
  • Location:Maryland
  • Country: United States

Posted 30 May 2007 - 10:34 AM

It is kind of funny to see the life of this thread.

It was originally posted almost 2 years ago and didn't have many responses. It was dead an buried in the thread graveyard until webmasterino found it and brought it back to life.

Now it has several people who think it is a worth while mod, me included. I'm going to do it this afternoon.

#16 User is offline   tof 

  • View gallery
  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 7,011
  • Joined: 25-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Beach, MS
  • Country: United States

Posted 30 May 2007 - 12:19 PM

I like it. Will let this thread percolate for a few weeks to (hopefully) pick up some more feedback. IIRC from my old civic days Honda connectors are pretty easy to work with.
Posted Image
Mike
2003 Silverstone - SOLD
1991 Berlina Black NSX
Posted Image
Posted Image

#17 User is offline   SheDrivesIt 

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 8,342
  • Joined: 04-December 04
  • Location:Cincinnati
  • Country: United States

Posted 30 May 2007 - 04:40 PM

I actually meant to perform this mod but forgot all about it! Woo Hoo. Sumfin' to do! :dance2:

#18 User is offline   tbonesteak 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 1,031
  • Joined: 20-April 06
  • Country: United States

Posted 30 May 2007 - 04:48 PM

awesomeeee mocl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#19 User is offline   rustywave 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 3,595
  • Joined: 04-February 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago
  • Country: United States

Posted 30 May 2007 - 04:50 PM

what is the reason (safety or otherwise) for honda to disable the fob while in the ignition?

for example in the top-down-while-driving mod, the speed monitor for the top makes sense cuz if you really don't want to be opening/closing the top at anything higher than low speeds.
aem v2 cai | berk test pipe | fujitsubo legalis r | whiteline x-brace | powerslot rotors

#20 User is offline   preppyS2000 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 186
  • Joined: 08-November 03
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • Country: United States

Posted 09 August 2007 - 08:09 AM

i really wanted to do this mod, and i finally got around to doing it yesterday.

however, it did not work for me. disconnecting wires 13 and 16 did nothing. it is probably because i have the factory alarm system... so now i have to get back under the dash and reconnect the wiring.

#21 User is offline   JonBoy 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 17,540
  • Joined: 12-May 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edmonton
  • Country: Canada
  • Interests:Karting, driving in general, ice hockey, racquetball, racing, working out

Posted 09 August 2007 - 08:55 AM

I might try this at home tonight. Great little mod.
"The only competition worthy of a wise man is with himself." - Washington Allston

My Flickr

#22 User is offline   SheDrivesIt 

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 8,342
  • Joined: 04-December 04
  • Location:Cincinnati
  • Country: United States

Posted 09 August 2007 - 02:53 PM

Damn it. Still keep forgetting to do this.

#23 User is offline   PJCC 

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 2,429
  • Joined: 08-May 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arlington, VA
  • Country: United States
  • Interests:Road Racing, Autocross, Biking, Basketball.

Posted 09 August 2007 - 03:01 PM

Quote

Why not push the trunk open key while moving? Anyone see this as a problem? I would think that all it would do is unlatch the trunk. It may rise a bit when stopped but if in motion, it will probably stay mostly down. Am I missing something?

In a panic stop situation, it will open-up very suddenly.
"Incompetence of individuals is no reason to take rights away from the whole society." - ECale3
Posted Image Posted Image
Posted Image

#24 User is offline   freq 

  • Group: Community Organizer
  • Posts: 17,121
  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:in my garage
  • Country: United States

Posted 09 August 2007 - 03:03 PM

Can I unlock the passenger door w/ the fob when the key is in the ignition?

Just curious.

#25 User is offline   CBR2200 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 3,004
  • Joined: 31-July 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house, AZ
  • Country: United States

Posted 09 August 2007 - 03:20 PM

I disconnected the secondary hood latch. No more two steps to open my hood. Best mod ever. ;D Kidding guys, I guess I just never need to open my trunk with the car running. What do you guys need to get with the car on anyways?
Posted Image

My Current Honda Garage:
Kid hauler: 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L w/Nav & RES
Commuter: 2009 Honda Fit Sport Manual
Bike: 2009 Honda VFR800 Interceptor
Weekend toy: 2008 Honda S2000 CR **SOLD**

Ads by Google   S2KI

Share this topic:


  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users