JDM Tuning Expert advice and discussion on JDM tuning for your S2000.

Spoon ECU

Old 08-24-2006, 11:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Actually JDM tuner ECUs have bypassed/disabled on all sensors, some very dangerous ones ala the Knock Sensor. The ratio goes Amuse > Mine's VX-ROM > J's Racing > Mugen > Spoon. Note that the usual big players are at the end because they started the very first release and all the base work for the rest. With a max power net of 20 ~ 10wbhp with I/H/E complimenting mods.
Old 08-24-2006, 12:07 PM

is there a way to see the break down of each manufacturer's ecu programming? See what they tuned in their ECU?
Old 08-24-2006, 11:42 PM

Actually JDM tuner ECUs have bypassed/disabled on all sensors, some very dangerous ones ala the Knock Sensor
This may be true and Im no expert but when my car was in for its serivce I had the guys plug in my ECU and they could see every readout /sensor as per the OEM ECU , hence my comments.

Infact they didnt believe me that it wasnt the stock one because of this as they believed that the ECU would come back with very little.

Either way its a great upgrade
Old 08-25-2006, 05:41 AM

Originally Posted by Lickermat,Aug 24 2006, 11:42 PM
This may be true and Im no expert but when my car was in for its serivce I had the guys plug in my ECU and they could see every readout /sensor as per the OEM ECU , hence my comments.

Infact they didnt believe me that it wasnt the stock one because of this as they believed that the ECU would come back with very little.

Either way its a great upgrade
Did yours also throw a check engine light?
Old 08-25-2006, 06:06 AM

Nope mine runs sweet, no issues I asked my dealer to plug in to look to make sure that it was all ok.

There is no reason why it should cause any issues; you do need to reset the ECU once fitted as with any ECU replacement.

Old 08-25-2006, 06:25 AM