Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Mobil1 Oil leads to brittle guides

Old 02-21-2012, 04:43 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Mobil1 Oil leads to brittle guides

So this story goes back to my BMW when I first got it. On my 540i I replaced the guides because they go out like crazy on those. I am a student at my university in automotive engineering and so a few friends decided to test oils on plastics to see what affect they have. We leave the timing guides in the oil, cycle them through temperatures for a long period of time. I think we're close to a year. Than remove the plastic pieces, than set them up for tension testing. Basically the guide in Mobil1 broke first, followed by Penzoil, Valvoline, and than Castrol tested the best. This was further confirmed when I called the dealer and was advised not to use Mobil1 because its bad for timing guides. Keep in mind the BMW guides were a lot thicker (4L V8) than the Honda ones. Just an FYI
Old 02-21-2012, 05:21 PM

are you aware that the four companies you listed sell multiple different types/kinds of oil?
Old 02-21-2012, 05:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

lolz another mobil 1 bashing thread
Old 02-21-2012, 06:50 PM

Correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't timing chain guides only "splashed" with oil and not "immersed"? Would this not change the outcome a great deal? What viscosity oil are we talking? Is it one sample per oil? How much of a difference did it make? Are you testing ultimate strength? Yield strength? Did it matter? What sort of machine are you using to test the strength? Was there a control? How about conventional oil? What temperatures are you cycling it between?

Not trying to piss on your parade, but I'd really like to know!
Old 02-22-2012, 05:46 AM