Γενικά Θέματα εκτός S2000 For all Off Topic posts

Exporting from Greece

Old 03-08-2016, 12:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exporting from Greece

Hello guys,

Let me first introduce myself, I am Nico from the Netherlands and im new to the Greek S2K scene, so hello

In about a month im visiting a friend of mine in Greece and had the idea of goin by plane to Greece, staying for about a week, buying a S2000 and drive it back to the Netherlands. unfortunatly i cant find anything on the internet regarding the export of a car from Greece. Do one of you guys know how this works?

Thx
Old 03-08-2016, 03:48 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hi Nico,

you're lucky since I've been through the process back in the summer of 2013 when I brought the family's Lexus with me to Switzerland.

First of all you will need export plates to drive the car since you're not a Greek resident and as such you can't register it at your name under a GR plate. In stark contrast to the ease of getting Zoll plates from DE that you can use wherever, in GR the export plates are being issued from the Economics Ministry and you will need a customs handler to run the paperwork for you.

Searching for "πινακιδες τελωνειου" brings more results for importing, but with your Greek friend you can look for export related stuff. Back then I used ektelonistika.gr and it was fine. Most of communication was through email and phone, and while I did go and pick up the papers and the plates I did have the option of getting them shipped to me.