Ark-La-Tex S2000 Owners Covering Arkansas, Louisiana, and East Texas

finally got door speakers again!

Old 01-30-2011, 11:39 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default finally got door speakers again!

so, i've been messing with my amp wiring off and on for about 8 or 10 months trying to figure out why my door speakers didn't work. everything sounded great. my doors had kenwood 6.5's and i've got 2 fosgate 10's in my trunk. every wire in the car was good. all connections were good. sourced every wire's route since it was wired before i got it. finally i narrowed down the problem to the speaker wire or the speaker. i finally took the door panels off, removed the speakers, and hooked them up to my surround sound in my living room. neither speaker made a noise. took them yesterday to audio express in searcy and got confirmation that i melted the voice coils in both of them.

they had one and only one pair of kenwood 6.5" speakers with tweeters on display that i was interested in. i actually asked the guy to pull them off of the wall to test fit the speakers with the honda mounting baffles and they fit PERFECT! i talked him down on the price since they were display, came home, and spent 2 hours putting my car back together.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Kenwood+-+6-1/...1&skuId=9764357

i paid 60+tax

i'm VERY satisfied too! and i've got enough bass to ring my ears for hours after i get out of the car! one feature that i really admire about a lot of kenwood door speakers is that while they have significantly better overall listening quality than most, they also have tweeters built into the speaker which is quite handy for us 00 and 01 owners!!! WOO HOO!!!!!
Old 01-31-2011, 07:46 AM

no comments?
Old 01-31-2011, 01:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If i had any money i'd buy some cause the stock speakers are junk.

but sixty bucks is about 8 months supply of ramen..
Old 02-02-2011, 01:03 AM