Australia & New Zealand S2000 Owners Members from the land downunder.

Build Thread (NA Sprint Series Car)

Old 03-07-2009, 03:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Build Thread (NA Sprint Series Car)

Hi all,

I've been thinking about starting this thread for a while now, but never been really sure if anyone would be interested in my car. But the more and more I do to it, and the more extreme it becomes, it has started to get more interesting.

So this is fairly belated as I've been building up the car for about 18 months now, but I'll try and catch up to where we are now. Because of this some of the photos don't quite match up with what I'm writing as they weren't taken at the time.

Car started life (in my possession) as totally stock 2001 in Royal Navy Blue with about 35K kms. Stock that is, apart from the really dodgy Champiro tyres the dealer had put on. These came off pretty much immediately and were replaced by Toyo T1-R's. Having done this and a full alignment (to UK spec) the car took place in its first Superkhana.

I couldn't really drive the car with the roof up and a helmet on (I'm tall), so first mod I had to make was a low position seat rail from Backyard Special. This was really great and gave me the extra room I needed.

The first real mods started with where I always start - chassis bracing. I know people say this is a waste of time on the S2K but old habits die hard. So on went a Spoon Tower Bar and Lower Cross Brace.

After this the front end certainly felt more taught on the road, but that could just be my imagination. Not much happened for a while until I took a really fast bumpy corner trying to keep up with my mates RX7. The rear end felt terrible through the bumps and, after some reading, I purchased the TC Design pillowball rear control arms. The car was still a daily driver so I didn't get the race spec ones.

Another alignment was done and fast bumpy cornering was all good again. Yay!