Australia & New Zealand S2000 Owners Members from the land downunder.

need help with diff problem

Old 07-04-2006, 02:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need help with diff problem

hi guys, just wanted to get some opinions on what to do in my current situation.

about a month ago i had to get my diff replaced in my 2000 s2k, it was fitted and in perfect working order, recently i took my car in to the same mechanic to get some gearbox bearings replaced as the gearbox was making noises as i was driving, i also detected a new noise about a week before i took the car in to the mechanic it was a loud whining noise on acceleration.

When i took the car in yesterday the mechanic put it up on the hoist, i found diff oil all over the rear underbody of the car, apparently the seal on the axel was cut/not installed correctly, resulting in the diff to be leaking oil. I have been driving around with a leaking diff for approximately 2000kms all this time the mechanic told me the noise was coming from the gearbox bearings, he assures me that the diff will be fine they ordered a new seal for it and it will be ok.

Now when i do get my car back and find out there is something wrong with the diff, the workshop should be held responsible for this? i can imagine that they are already trying to cover their arses and will make up any sort of excuse to avoid liability.

please let me know what your opinions on this matter are, any help would be great.

thanks guys
Old 07-04-2006, 02:17 PM

immediately take it to a different mechanic, and get a written report. then you will have some evidence when you sue them.
Old 07-04-2006, 02:20 PM

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Ideally you would have the diff inspected by an independent mechanic. You should be looking for play and wear on the crown and pinion. Another sign would be metal in the oil but I expect that has already been flushed.