Automotive builds Got an automotive build you want to want to document? Post it here!

Mark's BBasic AP1

Old 11-22-2017, 07:26 AM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Mark's BBasic AP1

Hey Everyone,

I am new to the S2000 community, after recently selling my 98 K24 Civic hatchback. I was looking for something more refined in stock form, that also would be enjoyable on the street as well as the track. After several months of searching, I finally landed on a clean little AP1 in Northern MI. I purchased the car on 11/20/17 from the original owner, who got on the wait list for the car in 1998. I picked it up with 79,709 miles, 100% original and never modified, aside from a recent brake rotor upgrade that was done Summer 2016. I wound up paying $10,500 for the car, which I felt was a good deal given the mileage, single ownership and clean title. The front bumper has been re-sprayed, unfortunately they didn't mask the VIN but you can still see the tag beneath the paint. Nonetheless, it still has all 10 matching VINs and all original body panels.

As far as the condition of the car, I would say that it has the normal wear/tear that you would expect for 17 years old. Overall though, it is in very good shape. The black paint is in desperate need of some swirl correction and a good detail. There are a few door dings that I plan to have pulled, and a few little cosmetic things here and there. The underbody is pristine, with little/no surface rust. Even the exhaust piping looks like it just rolled off the manufacturing line.