California - Bay Area S2000 Owners California Bay Area S2000 Owners Group

Need to know shops

Old 07-15-2006, 05:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need to know shops

I need your recommendation really badly for a shop that can make me a custom exhaust in the bay area AND a shop that can do a simple powder coating for my valve cover.

I will need to find a place to do these two things immediately so a prompt response would be extremely welcome!

Thanks,
Rashed
Old 07-15-2006, 09:03 PM

theres that new thread with all the shops on there check it out
Old 07-15-2006, 09:07 PM

Right, but I have no clue about the quality of their work and hence why I needed a recommendation. I don't want an exhaust made that is going to crack, be made completely incorrectly, or just piss poor quality.

Also I have not a clue what shop in that list does powdercoating. Does a body shop do that?

BTW, I'm fairly new to the California so forgive me if I'm clueless
Old 07-15-2006, 10:18 PM

Powder Coater

Vu has had a bunch of stuff done there. I had some motorcycle wheels powdercoated there. EXCELLENT quality... average pricing... average turnaround

I think you are in Santa Cruz though so you should try Wheel Techniques in Santa Clara first. They do great work too. They even fix sh!t for free that was not their fault... ask Asura!

Exhaust

This guy <Scott> is great, does lots of custom work for bikes and big blocks. Everything is heat bent though... not mandrel bent. You can even bring in your own muffler and he will weld the hangers. He put my S2000 muffler on my Accord, and has done both of my previous cars exhausts.
Old 07-15-2006, 10:23 PM

I need mandrel bended work.

I will try out Wheel Techniques...thanks for the info.
Old 07-15-2006, 10:45 PM

If you are looking into custom mandrel bent work... you are better off buying an exhaust. It will be cheaper.