Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

BMW Reliability

Old 07-24-2007, 02:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BMW Reliability

Hello all... I did a search on this topic and found a number of threads all leading back to "Japan versus Germany" discussions. That is not what I want to start here...

I am thinking about making a 335i sedan (manual trans.) my next car and I have no experience with anything but Toyota and Honda. Having said that, let me also add that my experience with these makes thus far has not been outstanding, nor has it been deplorable. I would say my cars have definitely had above average reliability. If I go the 335i route, I think I will probably drive the car 50 miles or so a day for the next 6 years. Assuming it runs well and does not cost too much to keep it that way, I would consider keeping it longer. For now, let's assume 20,000 miles per year. And before anyone suggests it, I have had Civics forever and while they are wonderful econo-cars, they lack the necessary refinement to keep me from hating the drive.

So to the point...

For those of you who have driven BMW's for a long time and even had them past their warranty expiration, how would you rate their reliability? While I am mostly concerned with the 3 Series, input on other BMW cars wouldn't hurt either. Or would you suggest leasing the car just to minimize the repair worries?

Thanks for your input!!

-rv
Old 07-24-2007, 02:39 PM
Banned

My sister had 99 3 series....it was a tank. She got into an accident (not her fault) and the other car she hit was totalled. Hers just had some bumper and quarter panel damage. Even after that it gave her no troubles.
Old 07-24-2007, 02:42 PM

i don't own a bmw but i cut and pasted this from vbb out of a mid-a thread...