Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

turbo bypass

Old 10-12-2004, 12:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default turbo bypass

i don't drive yet, and i havent' had the pleasure of driving in a friends car that has a turbo, but i was thinkink about the turbo lag that u get when u start accelerating. I was thinking maybe there could be a secondary air intake that went around the turbo and directly to the heads. Computer controlled and probably slowly closing as the turbo kicks in.
I have had no experience with any sort of turbo except for reading up on them. (ps. i'm only 15 so i don't own a car or drive w/o parents)

just wondering wut u guys thought...
Old 10-12-2004, 12:27 PM

Turbo lag is really only a problem in 1st gear. So while you're system may help a bit it probably wouldn't be worth the added cost or complexity.
Old 10-12-2004, 01:02 PM

Well.. turbo lag can become a bit of a problem in autocross and stuff like that... but there are already ways around it. They are just not very practical and actually, quite noisy.

Rally cars have a system where basically lots of fuel gets dumped and the combustion actually happens OUTSIDE of the combustion chamber... this allows for that energy to transfer into the exhaust housing and keep the turbo spooled while off the throttle..

This is why rally cars backfire so much.
Old 10-12-2004, 01:16 PM

Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts

Doubt it'll work. You're assuming the HP an engine generates on its own is greater than what it produces when turbocharged but before the turbo spools up. I'd expect that even before the turbo is fully spooled, it's sill producing some forced induction, and therefore yeilds more hp than if the engine were sucking air from the atmosphere directly.