Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Volkswagen R32

Old 10-06-2004, 04:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volkswagen R32

I'm studying now in the US and I need to get a car that i can use here to get to places. I would love to get a S but 2 seater, so whenever I have my parents over, can't take them for a drive.

http://www.vw.com/r32/flash/flash.htm

So i've been taking of the R32. Anyone ever driven one or what do you guys think about this car?
Thx
Old 10-06-2004, 04:48 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Pros:
Looks pretty good
Very Nice interior
Good Torque
Good utility

Cons:
Price Tag (30k for a golf?)
Performance doesn't compare to: 350z, sti, evo, s2000, etc
Doesn't look that much different then a basic golf
Over weight

If you get one definately get blue
Old 10-06-2004, 04:52 PM

Yep, those are basicly the same cons I have and blue is the best colour too .

If I can get one used i'll get it, if not, maybe an STI or if possible S2k
Old 10-06-2004, 04:55 PM

I took one out for a test drive once. It's a decent car. Didn't feel all that fast to me. It was more comfortable then my STi. I think it would be a good choice if you are looking for more civility as opposed to an Evo or STi. If that is what you are in the market for then I say go with it. Just make sure you test drive one a couple times and make sure you are happy with it. Around the same price if you aren't looking at the, STi or Evo, is of course the RX-8. Go out and spend a day going around to dealerships and find out which one makes you happiest. That's key, what you think and feel about your car not what others do.
Old 10-06-2004, 05:08 PM

I also testdrove one fairly recently. Actually, I was deciding between the R32, Sti, RX8, 350Z, and the S2000. I am getting the S2000 tomorrow. I pretty much agree with the other posts: