S2000 Forced Induction S2000 Turbocharging and S2000 supercharging, for that extra kick.

supercharger & aftercooler install for dummies...

Old 01-15-2004, 04:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

edit: new CEL (P0411) error and how to fix it -- 16 Jan
edit: jerrypeterson's hood tip added

Introduction

after all the help that people like doc, xviper, modifry have given, i think it's my turn to try to give back to this wonderful community that has done so much for me and others. i'm doing this not because this information already isn't here (cuz it is), but instead to consolidate all that i've found into one thread. i also am sure i'll have to make a few revisions since i'll forget a few things.

in addition, i named the thread appropriately because i've been working on cars for a total of 6 months now. before i owned my S, i didn't even know how to change the oil! no. i'm not kidding.

it's a new hobby, and i'm loving it, but i by no means am a good mechanic. instead, i'm maticulous and paranoid so i spend hours upon hours reading here and learning from the mistakes and successes of others.

i'm bolding the different categories of information so if you'd already done a lot of research on your own, you'll know where to stop, and unfortunately, i didn't have a camera to take any shots so it's all text. and finally, i'll leave it to the powers that be to decide if this thread is worthy of addition to the sticky FAQ for UTH.

it's also worth mentioning that i'm writing this from the perspective of a buyer of a comptech supercharger with aftercooler kit.

Why a supercharger instead of turbo?

here's how it was explained to me. turbos create phenomenal power all through the band and can easily overtake a sc'ed car; however, the extra strain on the engine will shorten its life, and this is already a hell of an investment.