JDM Tuning Expert advice and discussion on JDM tuning for your S2000.

Who Knows tuning with Emanage Ultimate?

Old 07-25-2007, 09:49 AM

Received 423 Likes on 298 Posts
Default Who Knows tuning with Emanage Ultimate?

I am considering a couple possibilities of getting some power out of my car. Either NA or FI route might include Emanage Ultimate down the road. Since I am a total novice to tuning, I have a couple questions regarding the system.

First, is there a good resource (perhaps a manual for Emanage or book on general tuning) to read so that I can better understand exactly what is being done. I hope to find a qualified tuner but I want to understand what is going on and make sure that if I understand the basics I won't be snowed by someone who claims to be a great tuner but could do harm to my car.

I would like to learn how to determine safe air fuel ratios, and how "safe" might vary under different conditions. For example, is a safe ratio at low rpm not rich enough ratio if the engine is at redline and so forth.

Secondly, since you can control fuel and timing, unlike say a VAFC, does the emanage override the Ecu's response to the knock sensor? It was my understanding that the ecu would advance timing until knock was detected and then pull it back. So if you are advancing timing, is that because the stock ecu advances to conservatively? If so, and you make it more aggressive will the ECU still be able to protect the car from knock in all conditions?