Mid-Atlantic S2000 Owners Members from Maryland, DC and Virginia

Marlyander buying s2k out of state

Old 07-11-2006, 08:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Marlyander buying s2k out of state

As you could gather by the topic I live in Maryland and was looking to get a s2k and I have seen alot of them from private sellers out of state.

Was wondering if any of you guys have gone through the process of buying out of state and what it entails?

I pretty much would like any information possible so I'm not standing around the MVA asking questions all day like....How do I pay MD tax when I purchased in another state, how do I get temp tags so I can drive it home from out of state, ect...
I know I'm going to have to call my bank to see what there procedures are for an out of state private party sale.

As you can probaly tell I'm just starting out so any info would be a great help, thanks.
Old 07-11-2006, 08:13 AM

Have you tried going to the MVA website? I personally haven't but the dmv website for VA is VERY helpful and has EVERYTHING you would need to know about anything car registration related...

try that out if you haven't already... good luck
Old 07-11-2006, 08:30 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

You pay MD sales tax (5%) when you register the car in MD. Don't worry, MD will nail you for sales tax. Willie Don wants yo' $$$$$.

Warren
Old 07-11-2006, 08:32 AM

Received 31 Likes on 30 Posts

i work at a dealer up in pa. we do md tag and title work for md folks but we don't do VA and other states. if you buy from a place that can do it for you great! if not you can probably just pay for the actual car + whatever the temporary 30 day tag is and then just go to a tag and title place. then you would just pay for your state tax and title fees right there and be done with it. i know of one up in manchester (rons auto) or fred's tag and title in timonium but there are probably others.
Old 07-11-2006, 09:09 AM
Community Organizer

Received 662 Likes on 416 Posts