Mid-Atlantic S2000 Owners Members from Maryland, DC and Virginia

Now that I have the parts to replace the brakes...

Old 10-24-2005, 11:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Now that I have the parts to replace the brakes...

So I started to do my rear brakes yesterday and got to the point where I need to remove the spindle nut. That sucker is on there pretty tight and I couldn't get it to budge. It's also hard to get a good hold on it.

After doing some searching it says that I should use a 36mm impact driver. First, I don't have one. Second, I have no experience with one.

Is there anyone here that is willing to let me borrow one after showing me how to use it?

Or

Is there anyone here that has one that is willing to help me for about an hour and replace my rear rotors and pads?

Thanks guys!
Old 10-24-2005, 12:04 PM

Uhh I replaced my rotors and pads and didnt ned to do anything with the axle nut...

Actually I had all 4 rotors calipers and lines off of my car and didn't need to touch anything that was 36 mm... When are you trying to do this?
Old 10-24-2005, 12:15 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by SwansS2K,Oct 24 2005, 03:53 PM

So I started to do my rear brakes yesterday and got to the point where I need to remove the spindle nut. That sucker is on there pretty tight and I couldn't get it to budge. It's also hard to get a good hold on it.

After doing some searching it says that I should use a 36mm impact driver. First, I don't have one. Second, I have no experience with one.

Is there anyone here that is willing to let me borrow one after showing me how to use it?

Or

Is there anyone here that has one that is willing to help me for about an hour and replace my rear rotors and pads?

Thanks guys!
Do not remove the axle nut to replace the rear pads/rotors!

All you do is:

1) remove wheel
2) remove the two caliper pin bolts
3) remove the two rotor screws
4) remove the two bolts that hold the caliper body to the hub
5) remove rotor