S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

S2KI Honda S2000 Forums (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/)
-   Money and Investing (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/money-investing-179/)
-   -   401k Loan (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/money-investing-179/401k-loan-1104767/)

Mr.Aqua 11-05-2014 09:57 AM

401k Loan

Hi guys,

I took a 401k loan out 2.5 years ago to put down on a house as I didn't have enough down. I've got another 2.5 years to go on the loan before it's paid off. I have enough liquid in my emergency fund to pay it off now but would take my emergency fund to about 1/2.

My job is fairly stable (as far as I know) and I've been with the company for 8 years. I contribute 10% to my 401k plus I pay back the loan each month to a tune of 500 dollars. The interest on the 401k loan goes back into my account but it does have a 24 dollar annual fee.

Is it smart to lump sum it, my liquid cash is getting me over 24 dollars a year so I'm not technically loosing money having the loan, just the potential opportunity cost if the market going up. I really do not like having any reoccurring monthly bills and would like to see my paycheck come up to where it once was.

Also, if I do get laid off or move companies I would need to pay the loan back in 60 days or get hit on my taxes. I would pay it out of my emergency fund. The only debt I have is a mortgage and a small 2,000 on a 0% credit card and I'm able to save about 2,500 a month so my emergency fund would be replenished in 6 months or so.

Thanks in advance!

Aqua

Heyitsgary 11-06-2014 05:31 AM

I would think you'd want to get this paid off as soon as possible. The $24 fee and even the interest paid is likely NOTHING compared to the possible gains even at moderate rate of returns in the account.

**Disclaimer - I'm not a financial adviser, analyst or anything else. I didn't stay in a holiday inn last night. I just think logically and believe my statements accurate until corrected.

Chris S 11-12-2014 02:18 PM