Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

Active duty service member trying to get out of debt.

Old 08-02-2015, 07:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Active duty service member trying to get out of debt.

Hey guys, this is my first time posting in here but I'm 25 and am looking to consolidate my debt while improving my score.
I'm active Duty navy (MA a little over 4 years) and have a few loans through Navy federal. my situation is I want to consolidate my debt and finish my car by the time I get married (Feb 2016). When I turned 18 I opened credit cards with no job and rang them up and never paid them until recently. Im am currently getting Creditrepair.com to send inquiries and challenge the credit companies to drop them and improve my credit. Creditrepair.com service is $90 per month
Here is a list of my monthly bill expenses and interest rates for the loans.
Nave Federal VA Home Loan- $129,730 (3.375% interest) $766 per month
Navy Fed Personal loan- $8,000 (17.75% interest) $232 per month
Navy Fed vehicle loan (07 TL)- $12,000 (7.24% interest) $206 per month
Navy fed Credit card- $6310 (owed, limit is $8k) (16.65% interest) $200 per month
I estimate it will take about another $6-7k to finish my car.

I got in way over my head with the loans and such a couple years ago when my credit was really, REALLY bad.. Now its improving and I have a 686 score.

Any help, tips, suggestions or options from some wiser people? I know I messed up but I realize it and I am trying to get it all corrected..
Old 08-02-2015, 09:26 AM

Received 1,131 Likes on 994 Posts

$2580 -- E5 over 4
$667 -- BAH/BAQ
$367 -- BAS
$3614 per month

Even with taxes on base pay you seem to have plenty to pay those bills.

$14,000 in credit card/personal loans is just stupid. (Sorry, but that's it.) Shred your credit card. Stop paying minimum payments.