Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

Have $200K liquid...Time to start a Business?

Old 10-21-2007, 02:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Have $200K liquid...Time to start a Business?

Here's my situation:

I'm 26 yrs. old. I made some good investments in the housing boom a few years ago and got out leaving me with $200K liquid in the bank. I work full time in the banking industry making $65K/yr. salary. Lately I've been getting the yearning to stop working for the big man and become my own boss. The only problem is I don't know what type of business I want to get into. My experience is only in banking (working both in retail and commercial) and it's difficult to be an entrepreneur in this field. I realize that I should definitely pursue a business I truly enjoy doing every single day, even if it means sacrificing some financial gains.

A friend of mine approached me to possibly start a business together within the next year. I have some concerns about this because I know that mixing friends and business is generally not a good idea. However, if I were to partner up with another person, I would want a friend I can trust and this guy is that person.

Finally, I've been messing around with the idea of starting a franchise. I've read numerous books, magazine, blogs and I still can't decide if thats what I want.

Should I start my own business ground up? Partner with a friend? Franchise?
Anyone been in a similar situation as mine? If so, I'd love to hear your story.

Thank you in advance.
Old 10-21-2007, 08:01 PM

First, having the money doesn't mean you should do it. Make sure YOU are ready, not just your bank account. For the record, with 200k you will probably need a partner for most standard businesses.

You can make a lot of money with almost any franchise if* you know what you are doing. What are you doing with that 200k? Is that seperate from your retirement/temp. savings etc.?