Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

Investing Questions

Old 12-27-2007, 09:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Investing Questions

First of all, I would like to make clear that I am a newbie when it comes to investing. I am young and would like to take advantage of an investors best friend; time. With those two things in mind I have concluded from some research that I should stick to index funds. It seems that Vanguard has a pretty good expense ratio and the fees are reasonable.*

Based on some research, I decided that the funds I would like to invest in are: VFINX, VEXMX, VEIEX. (Feel free to suggest other funds, but please provide some supportive reasoning).

I plan on keeping the money in the funds long term (at least 5 years, ideally 20+)

I am not sure which fund I would like to put the majority of my money into...
I was thinking VFINX because it will probably be more stable? Although the shares are much cheaper for the other two funds which would probably yield better results in the short term as well as long term using my no0b logic...

I plan on using the "dollar cost averaging method" when I add money to the funds. Is this a good way to go about it?

On average I have about $200 a month left over to spend on anything I want. What would be a good way to split it up amongst the funds I have chosen above?

Another specific question I have is what kind of account do I need to create with Vanguard? According to their descriptions I think I should create a General Investing, Individual, Vanguard
Old 12-27-2007, 12:28 PM

Many on this forum are not into index funds and Vanguard type investing. Personally, I follow this route, as it is simple, easy, and history has proven it very stable and rewarding. *Past performance is not indicative of the future of course