Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

New to investing

Old 05-20-2008, 12:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to investing

Hey everyone, This is my first time in this part of s2ki, for alittle background i have been very interested in getting into investing in the stockmarket, but more short term, kind of like day trading unless otherwise. However i really dont no anything about the stock market. I understand the concepts and what to do, but are their any suggestions that you more expirienced investors can give me as i begin my venture into this world. What stocks are good to start out with etc... I have been looking into oil stocks heavily and also a business that my friend has been investing long term in is GLW or corning Inc. But yeah like i said i know nothing and if there is any advise out there ill take it. Im also watching the other Huge thread in here as well. Well thanks for anything you guys can fork out for me and ill keep in touch
Old 05-20-2008, 12:47 PM

Originally Posted by Bliss@5200,May 20 2008, 12:07 PM
. . . i have been very interested in getting into . . . day trading . . . However i really dont no anything about the stock market.
This one's simple: you're going to lose all your money.

. . . i know nothing and if there is any advise out there ill take it.
Save yourself the agony of watching your account slowly dwindle down to nothing: just send all your money to me.

Seriously: trading is for people with experience - lots of experience. Without that, it's fool's errand: you're going to lose your money.
Old 05-20-2008, 12:49 PM

well obviously im going to start off small, how do u gain expirence with out trying? i know what ur saying its not like im gonna dump my lifes savings into this. I do embelish alittle when saying i dont no anything, im not stupid ive just never tryed this before and would like to. You understanding?
Old 05-20-2008, 12:51 PM