Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

WHAT'S NEXT AFTER A HIGH INTEREST SAVINGS ACCOUNT

Old 01-13-2007, 07:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation WHAT'S NEXT AFTER A HIGH INTEREST SAVINGS ACCOUNT

So what's next after opening a high interest saving account ( I.N.G direct, Emrigant direct, ect.) I'm a bit new to investing and was wondering what's the next step.
Thanks
Old 01-13-2007, 09:57 PM

Depends how much funds you have you can either put it in a high yielding CD or invest it in stocks. But make sure have some knowledge before trading in the stock market because its very volatile.
Old 01-13-2007, 11:01 PM
Administrator

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Questions to ask yourself:

What are your goals - what sort of return do you expect?
What is your tolerance for risk - how old are you and can you make back any losses?
What sort of investment is this - retirement or disposable income?
How much work are you prepared to put in managing it - do you want someone else to manage the investment or are you willing to do the work yourself?
How much money are we talking about?

These are all essential questions. Until you answer them you can't get clear guidance.

A savings account (high interest or otherwise) is not so much an investment as a place to store cash you need immediately on-hand without it losing any value. Money stored in your mattress loses value at a rate of 2 - 2.5% annually due to inflation (it sinks). A savings account is like treading water (you don't sink but you aren't swimming either). The only valid reason to store money away in a savings account is if it's absolutely essential it not lose value and that it be immediately available, a down payment on a house you are shopping for?