New England S2000 Owners New England S2000 Owners

Debt Games Could Sink Homeowners

Old 01-31-2005, 11:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Debt Games Could Sink Homeowners

Hi, As some of you know I work for General Electric. No I don't build toasters. I work as an IT Project Manager for their Consumer Finance division. We provide Credit Services to retailers and consumers. Basically a Credit Card company or to some the devil.

Anyway, Just a heads up on an article that was circulated here. Read this very closely. It shows that people who leverage their house to the 'hilt to pay off high interest debts end up years later still in high interest debt and monsterous mortgage to add. Just a heads up there folks. Keep the modding to a minimum!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~
Debt Games Could Sink Homeowners
Business Center News

Many American homeowners are addicted to a money game akin to "hot potato" that will end when too many consumers get financially burned.

The game is real and could easily be called "Extreme Household Debt." Here's how it's played:

The income of the average U.S. household, adjusted for inflation, has declined in recent years. To meet the fast-rising expenses of health care, education, gas and insurance - and, yes, often just to afford the next cool gadget - households have relied increasingly on credit card spending. When credit card debt becomes too big, households rush to refinance their homes at seemingly attractive, low mortgage rates. In the process, they borrow extra money to pay off their credit card debts.

Now saddled with a larger mortgage, households start anew to build up fresh debt on their higher-rate credit cards. At some point, debt becomes overwhelming. The game ends badly.

"At some point, when your income does not keep up with your expenses, it is called bankruptcy," says Javier Silva, a senior researcher at the Demos think tank in New York.