New York - Metro New York S2000 Owners Owners in New York City, Long Island, New Jersey, Connecticut

Track Days for Beginners?

Old 02-23-2014, 12:44 PM

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Track Days for Beginners?

so i know we have a couple dedicated track/auto x guys here in metro, and with the season approaching i want to get involved this year!

I've owned my car for 2 years and love spirited driving, but around here you cant really do all that much without getting in trouble/endangering the lives of others which i dont want to do, so i would like to get some track time in, but gotta say im nervous as hell!

#1 i have never done it before, and i dont wanna look like a jackass
#2 i dont want to send my beautiful car sailing into a wall cause ill cry
#3 i dont have a hardtop/roll bar

So im reaching out to you metro trackies!!! take me under your wing so i can soar with the eagles!!!!!....man that was gay, but seriously i wanna get on the track this year!!
Old 02-23-2014, 01:15 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The Pocono even is probably the best place to start. Get to that thread and get a reg. form in pronto! The track is flat, not too technical, and the club who hosts doesn't have a ton of M3's GT3's or other barn-burners coming up on you every lap like an Audi Club event will. https://www.s2ki.com/s2000/topic/106...ease-check-in/

If that doesn't work out get to one of the NASA Northeast events and sign up for the HPDE 1 group. They'll assign you an instructor and probably a very good one at that. http://nasane.com/

Most of these organizations will count the integrated roll protection in the S2000 as sufficient to run HPDE. NASA, DVMC, ACNA, PCA, etc. all do. Some will require you to pass a broomstick test where they place a "stick" on the top of the A-pillar to the top of the roll hoop, if you're head hits the stick, no go. My personal experience is most places are pretty lenient with this as long as it's close.