NYC Metro Off Topic All Off Topic Threads Go Here

Planing/Might be moving to nyc

Old 02-27-2015, 09:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Planing/Might be moving to nyc

Intro: Hey guys I figured I should introduce myself before starting my rant. My name is David I have been on s2ki since I purchased/rebuilt my first S2000 in 2007. I'm from the DelVal region more specifically the suburbs of philly. I graduated Temple University May 2014 with a BA in accounting. Currently working as a staff accountant in the corporate offices of a huge skilled nursing corporation. It has always been a dream/plan of mine to work and live in nyc for a while. I have a few friends that work in midtown and live allover the city that I visit every so often.

Plan: My original plan was to put in a year at my current job while finally taking autocross seriously and putting in a full season now that I can finally afford it. Next, around late summer start looking for jobs in nyc, interviewing and then finally accepting an offer and moving around mid to late fall. Well an opportunity has presented itself earlier than I have anticipated. A friend of mine that works in an ad agency has informed me that a financial analyst position is going to be open and she wants to submit my resume. Of course I updated my resume and sent it to her. I figure no matter what happens it cant hurt to interview.

Questions:
1. Living situation: My criteria that I am fairly firm on is that I want to live on the island and pretty set on Harlem and not spend more than 1-1.2k on rent(stretch I know). Now of course I can always find someone looking for a roommate and live with them but ideally I'd like to find a studio and live by myself. What are the best places to look for a place with no broker fee's(which being from philly is an absurd concept to me). Now I'm willing to use a broker but I'm not willing to pay an arm a leg for their service this is Harlem after all.