Off Topic and General Discussion Off topic forum - Serious discussion, Current Affairs, News, Help & Advice

Apple, it just works. Except it doesn't.

 
Old 11-17-2018, 12:25 PM
  #1  
UK Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Herts
Posts: 23,926
Received 92 Likes on 89 Posts
Default Apple, it just works. Except it doesn't.

The gf has acquired a new Macbook pro {2017 model.

Trying to get her home wifi. Find it and type in the password. Couldn't be simpler. Worked perfectly on her iphone and my droid.

Mac keeps saying "the network requires a WPA2 password" and won't connect.

Useless pos.

Does anyone have any suggestions, please?
lovegroova is online now  
Old 11-17-2018, 01:25 PM
  #2  
 
S2K-Phil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Salisbury - old people's home
Posts: 2,022
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

S2K-Phil is offline  
The following users liked this post:
lovegroova (11-18-2018)
Old 11-17-2018, 10:52 PM
  #3  
 
unclefester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Herts some place
Posts: 12,669
Received 31 Likes on 29 Posts
Default

You should also be able to set up a 2nd guest network that's wpa2 specifically.

Btw I hate Mac too.
unclefester is offline  
Old 11-18-2018, 06:27 AM
  #4  
 
Nottm_S2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 19,395
Received 70 Likes on 69 Posts
Default

i suggest she flogs it and buys a laptop thats better for half the price haha
Nottm_S2 is online now  
Old 11-18-2018, 07:19 AM
  #5  
 
Nick Graves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hertford
Posts: 30,885
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts
Default



Is that a lead balloon I see descending?
Nick Graves is offline  
Old 11-19-2018, 08:38 AM
  #6  
 
mattg4321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brighton - ish
Posts: 1,313
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Not really useful to the OP but to be fair I've been really happy with my Macbook Pro. Had a few problems initially setting up I seem to remember but once sorted have found it bombproof.

I used to go through a cheapish windows laptop every two or three years as I use it fairly heavily and to be honest don't really look after it and am not an IT expert by any stretch.

Had it nearly 7 years now and still going strong.
mattg4321 is offline  
Old 11-19-2018, 10:41 AM
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 66
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

maybe worth deleting it from the keychain (you can check the password was entered correctly there too) and then deleting the wireless network from the network preferences. reboot and try reconnecting.
andypandypoos is offline  
Old 11-19-2018, 01:40 PM
  #8  
UK Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Herts
Posts: 23,926
Received 92 Likes on 89 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by andypandypoos View Post
maybe worth deleting it from the keychain (you can check the password was entered correctly there too) and then deleting the wireless network from the network preferences. reboot and try reconnecting.
Thanks, what's the keychain?

I tried deleting and recreating the network a couple of times to no avail.

Does anyone know why it doesn't just work the same as any other device?

Additional info, it wouldn't connect to my phone which I'd set up as a wireless hot spot either.
lovegroova is online now  
Old 11-20-2018, 06:29 AM
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 66
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

you go Applications > Utilities > Keychain Access, it stores credentials, it should be listed under System > Passwords
andypandypoos is offline  
Old 11-20-2018, 01:41 PM
  #10  
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chesterfield VA
Posts: 7,340
Received 283 Likes on 264 Posts
Default

What lame wifi router are you using that's not using WPA2 security protocol? This has been available since 2004.



-- Chuck
Chuck S is online now  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands